We’re delighted to reveal the shortlist of our Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Heroes Awards, in partnership with Coca-Cola Europacific Partners and NCFE. The awards honour, celebrate, and shine a light on individuals and organisations championing diversity and inclusion within the business, and technical education sectors. There was an outstanding field of entries and the winners will be revealed at a virtual awards ceremony on 24 February inspiring others on their own diversity and inclusion journey.

Register to attend

Shortlisted are:

EDI Initiative of the Year: sponsored by Toyota Manufacturing UK

Gareth Saldanha-Fallows, Acorn Training
Teresa Caroll, Education & Training Foundation Jeff Greenidge, Association of Colleges
Robert Watts, Labcorp
Sally Williams, CSR Scientific Training
Mo Isap, IN4 Group

Diversity Network of the Year: sponsored by Air Products

Katie Asgari, RNN Group
Dawn Poulson Whelan, National Ambulance Disability Network
Charlotte Smith, Kettering General Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Rebecca Cackett, CGI
Harriet Padina, Siemens

Inclusivity in Excellence: sponsored by Palo Alto Networks

Ciara King, Errigal
Steve Williams, Coleg Gower
Haydn Thompson, South Staffordshire College
Judith Salmon, Association for Care, Training & Assessment Networks
Sandie Griffiths, British Floristry Association

Rising Star Award: sponsored by NCFE

Suzanna Blakeley-Monk, Princess Spark/Nick Blakeley Electrical
Geoffrey Mboya, University of Oxford
Ferheen Ayaz, University of Sussex
Anna Hart, Leonardo

Inspirational Role Model Award: sponsored by Festo

Carol Verner, Kettering General Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Rebecca Cackett, CGI
Shelby Nicole Lefley, Firebrand Training
Puja Varsanai, Middlesex University

Inclusive Skills Excellence: sponsored by FE Week

Supported Learning Department, New College Lanarkshire
Mike Butcher, Pembrokeshire College
Mo Isap, IN4 Group

Skills Competition Diversity Champion: sponsored by Coca-Cola Europacific Partners

Abigail Stansfield, BAE Systems
Ben Elson, The Manchester College
Leanne Newitt, North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College
Dr Paul Phillips CBE and Jason Hill, Weston College
Richard Hutchins, Institute of the Motor Industry

EDI Ambassador Award: sponsored by ForFusion

Mehmet Karamanoglu, Middlesex University
Alun Francis, Oldham College
Emma Andrews, Cardiff and Vale College

Judges had to make hard choices in going carefully through the entrants to decide who would go through to the final awards:

All nominations were really good and heartening to see the corporate and public sector doing all these initiatives.

Gill Cronin, Director of Operations, The 5% Club

Talent comes in all forms; you have to attract this talent by showing how inclusive you are and you retain them by creating the culture. It’s great to see this is happening in reality and is not just a big corporate tick.

Lucie Hayward, UKI Principal EH&S Advisor, Air Products
tag icon

You might be interested in

Sign up to receive our latest updates to your email